Who is the Visionary One?

IMG_0516My name is Al and I wear many hats these days.  I am a photographer, web designer, graphic designer, and best of all, a father and family man.

My journey began as a photographer when i began working as a camera salesman in 1998 and I knew very little about cameras.  In order to be the best salesperson I could be, I asked my manager if I could take home camera manuals and display cameras to learn all the features and functions I could.  As I began to learn camera basics and enough to close a sale, I began to become interested in taking photos myself.  Soon I was using renting equipment from my store and using my days off to practice my photography.  I began getting comments and feedback from others about the quality of my images and soon it turned into a passion.  I was able to purchase my own camera, a Canon Elan II SLR, and a lens package.

My love for graphic design originated from my love of photography.  My best friend from college was an aspiring music producer and had a few hip hop artists that he produced for and managed and needed someone to help with promotion.  I began taking portraits for his artists and then began to create promotional items such as CD covers, party flyers, and posters.  I found that I loved to take my photos and transform them into creative works that would be viewed by hundred of people.  Needless to say I began learn editing programs like Photoshop and design tools such as Illustrator to make improve my skills.

The next phase of my live began when we came up with the idea to build our own website.  Being that I had no experience as a web designer and knew nothing about HTML or CSS at that time, we found a simple to use WYSIWYG application called Namo.  At the time I was amazed at what I could create with the application but soon grew bored with the limitations I faced.

Soon I will be graduating with a degree in Web Technology with some additional skills in graphic design acquired through taking electives and my own desires to learn more.  My overall ambition is to have my own Web and Graphic Design and Photography business.  So be on the lookout for Visionary One Designs!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.